New Officers and Members Named for Community Hospice & Palliative Care Corporate & Foundation Boards of Directors

JACKSONVILLE—New officers and members were elected to the Community Hospice & Palliative Care Board of Directors and the Community Hospice & Palliative Care Foundation Boards of Directors.

Since its inception as a nonprofit, community-focused organization in 1979, Community Hospice & Palliative Care has been governed by a board of directors, made up of local civic, corporate and nonprofit leaders. The corporate board also includes executives from Northeast Florida-area hospitals, many of which entrusted their hospice licenses in 1999 to the organization, then known as Hospice Northeast, to create one collaborative “community” hospice and palliative care provider.

Community Hospice & Palliative Care Foundation, which is governed by a separate board, generates philanthropic and community support for patient care services, family needs and community programs. One example of this is Community PedsCare®, a nationally recognized pediatric palliative and hospice program that provides life-changing services to more than 150 patients and their families each day.

“Our board members provide invaluable guidance to our leadership team,” said President and CEO Susan Ponder-Stansel. “Their collective wisdom and dedicated service ensure we continually innovate to serve the ever-changing needs of people with advanced illness in the communities we serve.”   

 Board of directors members serve a 3-year term and can be re-elected for two additional 3-year terms.

Community Hospice & Palliative Care: Board of Directors


Chair: Fernando Acosta-Rua

1st Vice Chair: Joseph M. Mitrick

2nd Vice Chair: Kevin Robbins

Secretary: Christopher Emans

Treasurer: John W. Logue

Assistant Treasurer: Robert C. Nuss, M.D.

Members Elected to a 3-Year Term:

Tracy Arthur

Colonel Bill Dudley (Ret.)

Marie Gnage, Ph.D.

Fitch King, III

Sue Leger-Krall, ARNP, Ph.D.

Michael Mayo, FACHE

Patricia McElroy

The Honorable Kristina Mobley

Re-Elected Members:

Scott Cairns

Gerardo Colon-Otero, M.D.

Carole Gardner

Senator Audrey Gibson

Rick Hawthorne

Ray Matuza

Marcia Morales

Marsha Oliver

Allison Korman Shelton

Morrie Zimmerman 

Community Hospice & Palliative Care Foundation: Board of Directors


Chair: Ray Driver

Vice Chair: Michael E. Ruble

Treasurer: Jason W. Osborne

Secretary: Lisha Wise

Members Elected to a 3-Year Term:

Charlie Arnold

Virginia Hall

# # #